Subsea Expo

The voice of the UK subsea industry

ORE Catapultís Simon Cheeseman awarded prestigious marine renewables prize

View all news from: Offshore Renewable Energy Catapult
View directory entry for: Offshore Renewable Energy Catapult

21 December 2020

The Offshore Renewable Energy (ORE) Catapultís Wave and Tidal Sector Specialist, Simon Cheeseman, has been awarded the prestigious Society for Underwater Technologyís (SUT) Lennard-Senior prize for 2020 in recognition of his outstanding individual achievement in the field of marine renewable energy.

Simon is an experienced Marine Engineer who joined ORE Catapult in February 2014. He is responsible for driving the Catapultís marine renewables strategy and identifying its wave and tidal technology innovation priorities. He also oversees the organisationís leadership of key strategic EU marine renewables projects, such as the €45.4m Tidal Stream Industry Energiser Project (Tiger), the biggest ever Interreg France (Channel) England Programme. 

Simon commented: "It is a great honour to be recognised by my peers for my work in championing the marine renewables sector in both the UK and Europe. I believe marine renewable energy technologies should be a fundamental part of the future global energy mix, and vital if the UK is to achieve its Net Zero carbon reduction targets. I am passionate about supporting the sectorís continued development and path to commercialisation.

"Iíd like to take this opportunity to thank the SUTís awarding Committee, those that nominated me, and my colleagues at both the Catapult and in the wider marine renewables sector for their continued support.Ē

The prize is awarded in recognition of Don Lennard, who was the CEO of the Marine Technology Directorate, which supported university research on marine renewables. Don moved to Australia to initiate marine renewables research there. Gordon Senior worked for Atkins and championed marine renewable energy on several committees.

Previous winners of the coveted award include Orbital Marineís Andrew Scott, SIMEC Atlantisí Tim Cornelius and Chair of the Marine Energy Council, Sue Barr.